R&R

I am sick. Like hacking up green stuff sick (sorry for the gross imagery). sick

But even as I stood at the bathroom sink, attempting to cough out one of my lungs, I was at war with myself. The conversation went a little something like this:

Logical me: You should call out today.

Codependent me: Woooooah there, buddy. You can’t do that! They need you. 

Logical me: Pssssh, they’ll survive one day without your brilliance.

Coda me: They’ll think less of you. They probably won’t even believe you’re actually sick. 

Logical me: You’ve been sniffling and sneezing all week!!! They definitely know you’re sick. They’ll probably be happier knowing you can’t infect them

Coda me: Oh, that’s better! Look out for their health. Okay, I am satisfied. You can stay. 

So here I am, wrapped up in blankets, tissues scattered about me, and my puppy at my feet settling in for a day of reading, writing, and relaxing. I know that in the end, it was my desire to protect my coworkers from the clutches of this evil virus that ultimately convinced my brain to call in sick, but I feel that I have ultimately won. I am taking time for myself!

I will leave you all with this question: when was the last time you took a full day just to relax? No dishes, no laundry, no one else in the house…just you and your prerogative? Can’t remember, huh? Take it from me, you need it, you’re worth it, and you won’t regret it. I can already tell.

Love always,
-Freedom

Leave a Reply

